Put Joomla 3.0 in Offline Mode

Ok we now have our Joomla3.0 website up and running.

But we still have a lot of work to do before it's ready for the rest of the world to view.
A lot of changes and testing has to be done to the content, and look and feel of our new website so we need to put it in what is called "Offline Mode"

This will allow you to work on your website, while at the same time preventing the rest of the world from viewing those changes.

In this tutorial, we'll show you how to put your site in Offline Mode.

Administration Section

Log into your admin backend

admin-login

 

Global Configuration Link

global configuration link

Once you are logged into the admin section you will see the dashboard which is one of the main areas you will get to know over time.

There are two ways to access the "Global Configuration" section of joomla.

  1. On the Top Menu you will see the System link with a dropdown list where there is a link to the Global Configuration.
  2. To the left is a menu also displaying a link to the Global Configuration screen.

Depending on where you are in the back-end of your site one of these links will always be accessible.

Click on the link to take you to the Global Configuration screen.

 

Site Tab

offline setting

Once the Global configuration screen opens you should be on the Site tab.

There you will see a lot of customisation options, but we are only interested in the Site Offline Settings for now.

Click on the "Yes" option to turn your website off to the public.

  • Site Offline: Set to "Yes".
  • Offline Message: you can choose to have an offline message or hide it if not required.
  • Custom Message:  Here yu can create your own custom message to be displayed.
  • Offline Image: If you have a logo for your site or a small banner you can choose to display it also.

Once you have made your choices click "Save" in the top menu (Big green button).

 

Front end View

offline-frontend

Now go to your domain (eg: http://www.yourdomain.com). You will see that a login screen has replaced your website so any visitors cannot see your site until you switch it back on again.

For you to see the changes your are making to your website all you have to do is login with your admin username and password and the site will display only for you to see.

 

The advantage of having this function in Joomla is that now your are not under any pressure to rush your website to have it up and running.


Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0 / 300 Character restriction
Your text should be in between 10-300 characters
terms and condition.
  • No comments found

Get The Latest Browsers

firefoxLogo

google

News Letter

Sign up for news letter